Board of Directors

Robert (Bob) W. Duggan
Chairman of the Board of Directors
Bob Duggan has been a director since November 2017. Mr. Duggan is an experienced entrepreneur with multiple successful companies to his name. His first, Sunset Designs, gave a $15 million return on a $100,000 investment. Mr. Duggan moved into the field of technology in the mid-1980s and was a crucial driver of success for the company Government Technology Services, overseeing its successful IPO. Mr. Duggan has accumulated extensive experience in a variety of Board of Directors roles and has delivered a series of notable successes to many other companies in the fields of technology, media and biotechnology. Perhaps most notable is his recent success with Pharmacyclics, a biotechnology company for which Mr. Duggan served as Chief Executive Officer and was critical in its sale to AbbVie for $21 billion in May 2015.

Darrin R. Uecker
President and Chief Executive Officer, Director
Darrin R. Uecker has been Pulse Biosciences’ President, Chief Executive Officer and a Director since September 2015. Mr. Uecker has over 20 years of experience in the medical device field and is a named inventor on over 60 patents. Prior to Pulse Biosciences Mr. Uecker was the President and Chief Operating Officer of Progyny, Inc., a company that developed EevaTM, the world’s first automated time-lapse system for embryo selection during in-vitro fertilization. Prior to that, Mr. Uecker was the Chief Executive Officer, President and a Director of Gynesonics, Inc., a company that developed a novel medical device for the treatment of symptomatic uterine fibroids using ultrasound guided radio frequency ablation. Mr. Uecker has served in a variety of executive level roles at CyperHeart, Inc., Conceptus, Inc., RITA Medical Systems, Inc., and Computer Motion, Inc. Mr. Uecker attended the University of California at Santa Barbara where he received a B.S. and M.S. in electrical and computer engineering.

Kenneth A. Clark
Kenneth A. Clark has been a director since November 2017. Mr. Clark has been a member of the law firm Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati, P.C., since 1993. His practice has focused on strategic transactions in the biopharmaceutical industry for over 25 years, and he has been involved in several of the largest partnering transactions in the industry during this period. Mr. Clark served on the board of directors of Pharmacyclics, Inc., from November 2012 through the sale of the company to AbbVie in May 2015. He holds a B.A. degree from Vanderbilt University and a law degree from the University of Texas at Austin.

Thomas J. Fogarty, MD
Thomas J. Fogarty, MD, has served as a director since November 2017. Dr. Fogarty has been involved with a wide spectrum of innovations in business and technology, having served as founder/co-founder, and Chairman/Board Member of over 50 various business and research companies. During the past 50 years, he has acquired over 160 surgical patents. Dr. Fogarty received the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, the nation’s highest honor for technological achievement, in November 2014, the Jacobson Innovation Award of the American College of Surgeons, the 2000 Lemelson-MIT prize for Invention and Innovation and was inducted into the Inventors Hall of Fame in December 2001. Dr. Fogarty and his colleagues founded the Fogarty Institute for Innovation at El Camino Hospital, which seeks to create an environment where innovation in medicine is encouraged, supported, and nurtured. Dr. Fogarty received his undergraduate education at Xavier University and his medical degree from the University of Cincinnati. He completed his residency at the University of Oregon and later served as Medical Staff President at Stanford Medical Center from 1973-1975.

Manmeet S. Soni
Manmeet S. Soni has served as a director since November 2017. Mr. Soni is currently Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Alnylam Pharmaceuticals. Prior to joining Alnylam in May 2017, Mr. Soni served as the Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer of biopharmaceutical company ARIAD Pharmaceuticals, Inc., including during the company’s acquisition by Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited. Previously, he served as Chief Financial Officer of Pharmacyclics, Inc., a biopharmaceutical company, until its acquisition by AbbVie, Inc., in May 2015, after which he supported AbbVie during the post-acquisition transition. Mr. Soni has also served as Controller and Senior Director of Finance at ZELTIQ Aesthetics, Inc., a publicly held medical technology company. Mr. Soni graduated from Hansraj College at Delhi University in India. He is recognized by the California Board of Accountancy as a Certified Public Accountant and completed his Chartered Accountancy from the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India.

Mahkam "Maky" Zanganeh, DDS
Dr. Zanganeh was appointed as a director in February 2017 and is currently President of Zanganeh and Associates. Previously, she served as the Chief Operating Officer of Pharmacyclics, Inc., from August 2012 to September 2015, Chief of Staff and Chief Business Officer from December 2011 to July 2012 and Vice President, Business Development August 2008 to November 2011. Prior joining Pharmacyclics Inc., Dr. Zanganeh served as President Director General (2007-2008) for the French government initiative bio-cluster project in France, establishing alliances and developing small life science business regionally. From September 2003 to August 2008, Dr. Zanganeh served as Vice President of Business Development for Robert W. Duggan & Associates. Dr. Zanganeh also served as worldwide Vice President of Training & Education and President Director General for Europe, Middle East and Africa for Computer Motion Inc., the world initiator of medical robotics. Dr. Zanganeh received a D.D.S. degree from Louis Pasteur University in Strasbourg, France, and M.B.A. from Schiller International University in France.